Long Island Weddings
A Long Island wedding reception

HomeVenuesUnique Venues

Hampton Bays · The Hamptons

Canoe Place Inn & Cottages

Catering at Canoe Place comes from Union Square Events, the Danny Meyer company, and that single fact explains the price. Here Comes The Guide lists reception packages starting at $350 per person, several times what a Nassau catering hall quotes. The property reopened in 2022 after close to twenty years standing empty, restored by Rechler Equity Partners with Main Street Hospitality. It has a 5,087 square foot ballroom, six acres, and rooms and cottages on site, so it is built for a weekend rather than a five hour reception.

HotelHistoricWaterfrontEstate

The numbers, labeled

Per person
$350 per person starting, on Here Comes The Guide. Zola and PartySlate both publish the same figure. canoeplace.com prints no price at all.
marketplace
Site or rental fee
Ceremony $2,000 to $5,000 by season on Here Comes The Guide. The Knot lists ceremony $2,000 and reception $5,000. WeddingWire lists $2,000.
marketplace
Food and beverage minimum
Peak, May to October: $15,000 to $60,000 single venue and $60,000 to $100,000 full buyout. Off peak, November to April: $10,000 to $30,000 and $25,000 to $50,000.
marketplace
Service charge and gratuity
25% administrative fee, published only by Here Comes The Guide.
marketplace
Outside vendors
Here Comes The Guide says in house only for food and beverage. WeddingWire says outside vendors permitted. Unresolved.
marketplace
Capacity
Grand Ballroom 300 seated and 375 standing. Lawn ceremony up to 250, indoor ceremony up to 200.
first party
One wedding at a time
Yes, one wedding per property, on Zola. Not stated by the venue.
marketplace
Rain plan
No written policy. Indoor ceremony for 200 in the Ballroom, plus a 7,200 square foot tentable lawn.
first party

Every number on this page is marketplace sourced. The venue prints nothing, so the $350, the 25% and the minimum bands all need confirming against a real proposal. The distance between a $10,000 off peak single venue minimum and a $100,000 peak buyout is the actual decision here, and it is a decision about what kind of weekend you are buying rather than about food.

We read canoeplace.com's weddings, events, spaces and accommodations pages, the listings on The Knot, WeddingWire, Zola, Here Comes The Guide and PartySlate, the Union Square Events venue page, and reporting in James Lane Post and Global Traveler. Checked September 2026. First party means the venue’s own site or rate card; marketplace means The Knot, WeddingWire, Zola, Wedding Spot or similar. Nothing here is averaged or estimated.

The founding year conflicts: the property's own branding says 1697 while James Lane Post and Global Traveler both say 1679.

Their own site says 1697 and two press accounts say 1679

The accommodations page carries 1697 in the property name, and PartySlate uses the same year while calling it the site of the nation's oldest inn. James Lane Post and Global Traveler both say 1679, founded as a coaching inn. We print both, because nobody has reconciled them and an eighteen year gap in a founding date is exactly the thing a venue should be able to answer on a tour.

The documented middle is better sourced than either end. Global Traveler records British officers quartered here during the Revolutionary War, an inn and dance hall in the early twentieth century, a speakeasy under Prohibition, and a nightclub running from the 1980s into the early 2000s. Theodore and Franklin D. Roosevelt, Cary Grant and Lucille Ball are named among the guests. Then it sat vacant for nearly two decades.

The rebuild is recent and well documented. Mitchell and Gregg Rechler of Rechler Equity Partners restored the property in partnership with Main Street Hospitality, with interiors by the design firm Workstead, and it reopened in 2022. The Knot and WeddingWire both count four years in business, which lines up.

Union Square Events runs the kitchen and $350 per person follows from that

Here Comes The Guide lists reception packages starting at $350 per person. Zola gives the same $350 for off peak dates with a $35,000 minimum total spend. PartySlate estimates $350 per guest with catering and beverage included and taxes and fees excluded. Three marketplaces landing on one number is more agreement than most venues on this list can manage.

None of it is first party. canoeplace.com publishes no price anywhere. The weddings page, the events page, the spaces page and the blog all terminate in an inquiry form.

What Here Comes The Guide says the package covers is specific. Passed and stationary hors d'oeuvres, a two course plated dinner, a five hour premium open bar, and cake service. Then a coffee and tea station, linens, a dance floor, an overnight for the couple, valet and staff. The separate bar figures are a mess. WeddingWire shows bar service from $5 per person, The Knot shows $50 per person, and neither sits comfortably beside an all inclusive package. We would not build a budget on either.

5,087 square feet of ballroom and a lawn measured for a tent

The venue publishes a real spaces table, which is rare enough to be worth using. The Grand Ballroom runs 5,087 square feet under a barrel vault ceiling, seating 300 for dinner or holding 375 standing. The Pavilion is 2,454 square feet and takes 300, or 200 theater style, and does cocktail hour. The Event Lawn is 7,200 square feet, 92 feet wide by 80 feet deep, tentable, and holds outdoor ceremonies up to 250.

The smaller rooms each do a specific job. The Terrace is 2,000 square feet for 100. The Study is 1,300 square feet with an original brick fireplace and is marketed for after parties. The Rotunda and the Garden, which has a firepit, handle cocktails. There is a bridal suite and a groom lounge.

Lodging is the other half of the property. Global Traveler counts 13 guestrooms, 7 suites and 5 cottages across six acres, and the venue's accommodations page adds waterfront boathouse residences managed by Inspirato. The Knot counts 20 guest rooms and 5 cottages. Marketplace capacity figures wander from 250 up to 400, so use the venue's own table.

A 25% administrative fee, published by exactly one source

Here Comes The Guide states a 25% administrative fee. Nobody else publishes a percentage, the venue included. The same site lists 22% for Gatsby on the Ocean, so 25% runs three points above a figure that appears commonly on Long Island, sitting on top of a base that is already several times larger.

Nothing else about the fee structure is public. No maitre d' fee, no bridal attendant fee, no statement of how New York sales tax is applied. PartySlate notes only that taxes and fees sit outside its $350 per guest estimate.

Ceremony fees are published three ways. Here Comes The Guide gives a $2,000 to $5,000 band depending on season. The Knot lists a $2,000 ceremony fee and a separate $5,000 reception fee. WeddingWire lists $2,000 for peak and off peak alike. The Knot's $5,000 may be the top of that same seasonal band filed in the wrong box, but no source says so and we are not going to assume it.

Minimums run from $10,000 off peak to $100,000 for a full buyout

Here Comes The Guide is the only source that separates a single venue booking from a full property buyout. In peak season, May through October, a single venue runs $15,000 to $60,000 and a full buyout runs $60,000 to $100,000. Off peak, November through April, a single venue runs $10,000 to $30,000 and a buyout $25,000 to $50,000. It also notes that a full buyout requires separate hotel room reservations.

Other platforms describe the same property differently. Zola shows a $35,000 minimum total spend off peak. PartySlate shows a $15,000 wedding package minimum, which is the floor of the peak single venue band rather than a headline number. The Knot shows a $35,000 starting price with couples typically spending $60,000. WeddingWire shows $35,000 off peak and $60,000 peak. Five framings and no venue published figure to arbitrate between them.

The catering rule is the one thing two sources flatly contradict

Here Comes The Guide says food and beverage are in house only and outside catering is not permitted. WeddingWire's FAQ says outside vendors are permitted. Union Square Events confirms on its own site that it provides catering for the property, which supports the in house reading. The likeliest explanation is that WeddingWire means photographers, florists and bands. Confirm it before you sign a caterer of your own.

Zola's FAQ states one wedding per property, with no multiple weddings in a day. Read that against the shape of the place. There are six or more event spaces and a working hotel, so one wedding does not mean the property is empty of other guests unless you take the buyout.

No end time is published anywhere. Here Comes The Guide says amplified music is allowed indoors and outdoors and that the venue is available year round, daily, then stops. The Study and the firepit garden are marketed for after parties, which implies the main reception has a defined end. The time itself is not stated.

Rain has two answers in fact and none in policy. The Ballroom takes 200 for an indoor ceremony and the lawn is tentable at 7,200 square feet. There is no written weather call, no deadline and no published tent cost. Get the tent quoted separately, because at that footprint it will not be a small line.

This is an unclaimed listing. If you run Canoe Place Inn & Cottages, claim it free to add your photos, capacity, packages and pricing, and sit at the top of Unique Venues.
Claim this venue

More unique venues

All ›
Smithtown · Suffolk
Insignia

A Smithtown prime steakhouse and sushi room that closes to the public for one wedding a day, with the bar list published down to Macallan 12.

View
Riverhead · Suffolk
The Suffolk

A restored 1933 art deco theater in Riverhead whose house lighting and sound comes with the room, with weddings capped at 278 on WeddingWire.

View
Southampton · The Hamptons
Southampton Arts Center

The 1897 Atterbury building that housed the original Parrish Art Museum until 2012, now renting for weddings held among live exhibitions.

View
Roslyn Harbor · Nassau
Nassau County Museum of Art

A 1900 Codman mansion on 145 acres where the biggest wedding space seats 150, booked through a catering brand the museum's own site barely mentions.

View
Long Island Weddings
Every kind of Long Island wedding, in one place.
Back to Unique Venues